h1

SLOW DOWN AND LISTEN (spiritual director’s message for September 2010)

September 1, 2010

People often ask me, DO YOU THINK GOD STILL SPEAKS TODAY???

My answer is always “YES.”

However, there was a time in my ministry that I was too busy to hear God’s voice. I was preaching four times a week, leading several Bible studies, involved in my community organizations and administering a church.

The result of this activity was a stay in the hospital. As I look back on that time in my life, I realize the Lord was trying to get my attention–not because He wanted to scold me, but because He loved me.

His deepest desire is not that we would do great work, but that we would desire His fellowship above everything else. This is the primary reason He speaks to us today.

God loves you and wants you to experience peace and freedom that comes from knowing Him intimately. But that can only happen if WE SPEND TIME WITH HIM.

You can’t hear God’s voice when your RUSHING from one place to another. You can’t discern His directives for your life if your always on the innernet or cell phone. You can’t know His truth He has stored in the Scriptures if your reading your Bible while sending messages on the iPhone.

It’s easy to get wrapped up in all the things we think we need to do today. But trust me, SPENDING QUALITY TIME WITH GOD IS IMPORTANT!!! There is no substitute.

And when you make the conscious decision to put away all the gadgets and worries that distract you and THEN FOCUS YOUR WHOLE ATTENTION ON THE LORD, HE WILL BLESS YOU BEYOND MEASURE.

He is ever-present in every circumstance and will bring His light of wisdom into your heart when you seek His Guidance. YOU SIMPLY NEED TO SLOW DOWN
AND LISTEN!!!

YOUR KEYSTONE  EMMAUS COMMUNITY SPIRITUAL DIRECTOR
BISHOP JIM SUNDERLAND
SEPT 2010 DEVOTIONAL

Leave a Reply

