Spiritual Director's Message

Spiritual Director’s Message

Friends of Keystone Emmaus Community,

As we begin the season of Lent, we are often reminded that Lent is a time of prayer, fasting, and alms giving.  That’s not to suggest that we don’t pray, fast, or offer help outside of Lent.  But it is a time that we can use to really examine our relationship with our Lord Jesus.  One way that we can do that is to revisit some of the lessons of our Emmaus Walk.

How are we doing with our “priorities”?  What about that “life of piety” which stresses communication with God?  We can communicate through prayer, meditation, devotions, scripture reading, study, worship services, Bible studies, and use many other ways to draw ourselves into a closer relationship with God.  Our involvement in “changing the world” or “Christian action-type” activities are likely to involve sacrifice as well as helping others:  Repairing a home from Katrina; Visiting on a Kairos team, Praying to sponsor a new pilgrim; Working on a project in your local community, Making a dinner for a family going through a hard time; or Serving in background for a Walk.

One of the songs I heard recently on the radio is called, “You are my King (Amazing Love)” by Billy James Foote.  The words struck me as being particularly appropriate for Lenten prayer and meditation as we anticipate the celebration of the resurrection.  You may recognize it.  Here are the lyrics:

I’m forgiven because You were forsaken.
I’m accepted because You were condemned.
I’m alive and well, Your Spirit lives within me,
because You died and rose again.
Amazing love, how can it be,
that You my King would die for me?

Decolores,
Bishop Jim Sunderland, Community Spiritual Director

Leave a comment